First day of Kindergarten, Turkey Caesar Sandwiches and Snapshots of Life!

Hello all!

Well, it is official. We have completed Day 1 of Kindergarten via Classroom de Delgado and it was a HUGE success! (Well, if you don’t count the off times on the schedule that is).

I made a few last adjustments to the classroom last night as I began to set out my lesson plans, get all necessary needed items together and ready. I was pretty nervous and excited last night as I finally made my way to bed. We had managed to get Mister M in bed by 7:30 and asleep before 8:00 and except for when the dogs began barking at the bear, he slept soundly through the night.

Our first success came with 3 things:

  1. I got up on time and was ready before our 8:30 breakfast time.
  2. I was able to get Mister M up, dressed in real clothes and a quick Kindergarten picture snapped just in time for his breakfast time to start.
  3. We started promptly at 9:00 just as I scheduled.

One of the things I added that I am so glad I remembered to do last night was hang up our schedule chart. This is the place where Mister M can see what we are doing and what comes next! I still have to tweak it because I am missing a few cards and I need to add times to everything but it worked great today and he loved being able to see what we would be doing next and get prepared for it.

20150817_090722

I got those adorable little schedule cards for free from The First Grade Parade. There are 48 pages of amazing and adorable schedule cards for almost every subject imaginable. We printed our out on cardstock and then laminated them so they would take some wear. We love them.

In addition to my schedule, I made sure I had my Big White Board all set up for today. I kept thinking to myself, will I even use this thing? Is it going to make it harder if I am trying to get him to watch me do things on this board? It turns out, those fears were wrong. I did use it; a lot actually. And it turns out that it was a great teaching tool that I didn’t even realize I would need. And the best part…it was gifted to us. I love how God always knows what we need, before we even know we need it.

As you can see, I used this to hang our weather wheel on so that we can pinpoint more about our weather during our Science time. At one point, I asked Mister M to describe the weather outside and as he did, I wrote those descriptions underneath the weather wheel and used some fun simple art to get him excited about documenting and observing the weather. I also used this board to post our weekly memory verse so that I could point at each word as we said it, as well as, putting the day and date at the top so Mister M can use it as a guide as he works on his Daily Calender Notebook.

About halfway through the day, I added a Behavior Column over to the right using a Red Light, Yellow Light, Green Light System of sorts to help him focus on keeping good behavior. (This worked like a charm after he saw me move him to yellow for not following instructions after his initial warning!)

Here is a glimpse of my board last night and then at the end of the day 🙂

20150817_090753 20150817_140053

(I realized after the fact that my stoplight was backwards and fixed that ;))

I also thought it would be humorous if we had a “Hall Pass” and Mister M loved it. Every time he went to the bathroom, he took it with him. I found it at our local Dollar Tree. We may home school but I still want him to experience some of the fun things I remember about school and hey, even us homeschooling Mommas have to watch those halls. You never know where your kid might sneak off to!

20150817_103121

All in all, it was a great day and at the end of it, I find myself feeling more secure than I ever have been in knowing that God has called me to this and equipped me to do it. We had a couple bumps but we just dusted ourselves off, picked back up and kept on going. I will give a review of our curriculums by subject once we have spent more time on each of them but I can tell you for now that I am VERY confident and happy in our choices after day one. (That may change later on though I pray it doesn’t.)

Here are a few more images from our day today:

20150817_101018

This was our first day’s Math assignment. We learned all about Top, Middle and Bottom.

20150817_114400

During our Weather (Science) lesson, we learned about the different kinds of weather using this cute video from Youtube.

20150817_114249

As you can see, he knows how to relax anywhere and he loves educational videos! 😉

20150817_115507

We even discovered we had a classroom visitor who wanted to watch the with us. Mister M named him Greenie.

20150817_122533

We made these delicious yummy Turkey Caesar sandwiches with some fresh cucumbers and fresh fruit bowls  for lunch. (I will be posting the recipe for them in a later post.)

Screenshot_2015-08-17-16-20-20 Screenshot_2015-08-17-16-20-07 20150817_091003

Ya’ll…I have a Sophmore, a 6th grader and a Kindergartener.

*Sigh* How did that happen?

I pray all the rest of my homeschooling or public school attending friends had as an amazing and awesome day as we did. We survived the first day and that says something right there. Take deep breath. Kick up your feet and rest easy tonight. It’s all a little easier from here.

Blessings and love,

Kristy ❤

Leave a Reply

