First Step Reading, you saved my day….

This week has been a very off one to say the least. With my back being in such pitiful shape the last few days, I have had to greatly alter our lessons and do very minimal things. I attempted to do too much Tuesday evening and found myself feeling exhausted and in a great deal of pain yesterday so our regularly planned homeschool lessons were too much for this recovering Mamma to handle.

I felt frustrated at first until a sweet friend reminded me that my son is only in Kindergarten and that if he is learning ANYTHING he is learning and that is okay.

So I set out to find some online resources yesterday morning that would work in lieu of our traditional homeschool lessons while I rested and tried to get my back in working order again. Thankfully, I found an amazing FREE program that I knew I just had to share with all of you:

FirstStepReading.com

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 1.14.01 PM

There are over 50 FREE lessons to help teach your child to read.

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 1.17.41 PM

They have these adorable interactive critter characters, as I call them, who help teach your child to sound out sight words. So while they teach them to recognize the word, they also teach them to sound them out so that they can hear the word themselves and learn it by both sight and sound. I completely love this as my husband and I both felt on the fence about just sight words or just sounding out words. This was the perfect way to blend in both techniques at once.

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 1.18.27 PM

Each time your child, along with their adorable new critter friend, work on one of the words together and learn it, they celebrate your child’s accomplishment with confetti or balloons and loud cheering. Not only is this adorable but it also gives them incentive to keep on going!

I was absolutely amazed watching Mister M go through each word with them. He was guessing the word within seconds of hearing the two sounds put together. I felt so excited and proud as I realized how much my son truly does love to learn.

If you are looking for a supplement to add to your homeschool lessons or are a teacher that is looking for a fun, interactive way to teach your students how to read, this would be a GREAT resource for you. I am so thankful and blessed I found them, they came to my aide in a very needed moment!

Mommas, life is going to happen. Homeschool does NOT have to be burden. We can make up days later if we must, we can do extra on another day if we feel we need to but if we don’t allow ourselves room for life to happen sometimes, then we will get weary and this incredibly wonderful journey will become a burden that we want to shed. If you are having an off week, that’s okay. If you did ONE thing to help your child learn that day then you did homeschool and it’s going to be okay. Don’t sweat the small stuff or the big stuff because God called you to this and He will be bring you just the resource you need at just the right moment.

********************************************************

Isaiah 43:1,2

“But now thus says the Lordhe who created you, O Jacob,
  he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
  I have called you by name, you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
  and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
  and the flame shall not consume you.”

*********************************************************

Blessings and love,

Kristy ❤

Leave a Reply

