Community Helpers Series: The Doctor is In

Today was another EXCITING and fun filled day at Coop with some of the sweetest kids I know. This week we were learning all about a Doctor. This was one I was really looking forward to because I found some amazing and adorable crafts for this lesson and I had everything we needed to create a role play event my little warriors would love.

We started out by talking about last week’s lesson to review and take a look at some of our homework projects. I had some amazing little artists. Their assignment was to create a fingerprint tree with their Moms and Dads. I love how well they did and thought I should take a moment to highlight one of them:

20150904_092745

Next we dove right into today’s lesson and learned about just a few of the kinds of doctors we have in our community:

  1. Family Physicians
  2. Pediatricians
  3. Orthopedic Doctors
  4. Cardiologists

Next we made our very own Doctor’s Medical Kit, using an idea I found over at Homeschool Creations.

20150904_085501 Pic 1 Pic 2 Pic 3 20150904_085514 20150904_085518

To make this easier. I created all the handles and the logos on the front myself, cut them out and had them ready so that all they had to do was glue everything together. I also created my own kit the night before so they could see what it looked like to assist them as well. They did an amazing job and I was so happy with everything. It was an easy and fun craft for everyone!

We also made these adorable little stethascopes using bottle caps and a couple of fuzzy pipe cleaners. I found this idea over at Getting Messy with Ms Jessi. This one took quite a bit of help from me since we opted to use hot glue to hold them together. I added cotton balls to the ends and glued them on so that when they put them in their ears, no wires could hurt anyone. They turned out adorable.

Pic 4

Once everything was all said and done, we set up a little station for the kids to role play as doctors, nurses and patients. Using props from home, the children were able to dress up if they wanted and treat patients by taking their temperature, listening to their heart beat, bandaging them and even writing patient files and prescriptions. They really loved this!!

Pic 5 Pic 6

And of course, with all this cuteness, I had to be sure we got a class photo to show off our day.

Pic 7

Based on how well this took off with the kids, I’d say we may have some future doctors in the group!

For homework this week, I sent home a blank prescription template for the kids to role play with their parents and talk about some different type of sickness and some possible treatments. I hope all of our parents enjoy it as much as we all did today.

For  more fun and amazing crafts, be sure to check out Pinterest. They have TONS of amazing and fun ideas.

And with that ladies and gents, we wrap up Week 3 of COOP! Wow! How time flies!

Blessings and Love,

Kristy Delgado

Matthew 4:23

“And Jesus went about all Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the gospel of the kingdom, and healing all kinds of sickness and all kinds of diseases among the people.”

Leave a Reply

