Summer Sausage Skillet Dinner

It’s been a bit since I posted one of my recipes and tonight as I whipped up one of my easiest meals that my husband just loves, I thought to myself, “This one is post worthy.”

I am all about simple. Give me few ingredients, quick prep and cook time. Since dear hubby works odd hours, I have to have dinner ready for him to eat or pack up by 4:00 p.m. I know, as you are reading that you are probably laughing at the notion I even consider that early but growing up we always ate dinner around 5:30 or 6:00 p.m. depending on what Momma was cooking that night so to be ready to eat at 4:00, well that seems really early to me.

The easier the meal, the happier this Momma is!

Tonight, I am sharing with you my “Summer Sausage Skillet Dinner”:

20150920_154200

Ingredients:

1 Beef Smoked Sausage (I use Hillshire Farm but you can use whichever you prefer)

1 Green Bell Pepper

1 Red Bell Pepper

Salt

Pepper

Uncle Ben’s Boil-in-Bag White Rice – 2 bags

Steps:

Put 8 cups of water in a large pan to boil.

Clean your bell peppers and slice into strips then half them.

Slice the entire smoked sausage.

Place in a skillet and add the salt and pepper to taste.

Cover and cook over medium heat until the bell peppers are soft and juicy and the meat is golden brown.

Drain and pat with paper towel to remove any excess grease from the  meat.

When your water is boiling, add the 2 bags of Uncle Ben’s Boil-in-Bag rice. Cook for 12 minutes.

Drain the water and cut open the bags carefully and pour rice into a serving bowl.

Serve the sausage mix over the rice and you have a delicious and quick meal the whole family can love.

20150920_162810

Enjoy!!!

Kristy ❤

Leave a Reply

