Trial Run

I have decided that Semester One of the Delgado Learning Academy was our Trial Run. It was the period in which I would try to do a WHOLE lot of things only to realize that we needed to scale it back a WHOLE lot.

Last semester our schedule consisted of the following:

Bible Lessons

Calendar Time

Math

Phonics

Reading

Writing

Science – twice a week

Geography – twice a week

Art – once a week

While, I know my son could do all this and he did, he was not falling in love with learning so I took the mistakes of our Trial Run and have modified this semester of homeschool.

We will of course continue our Pledge of Allegiance and Bible Lessons, though for now, I am going to set aside our Heroes of the Bibles Curriculum. While I love teaching the stories of these characters, the biggest thing I want my son to learn is to store the Word of God in his heart. So we will be doing a short devotional and doing a Memory Verse for the week. He will learn to say it and to write it. I want him to store these treasures in his heart. While I do want Him to come to know these mighty men and women of God, I first and foremost want him to learn to apply these verses to his daily life and his own situations. He loves to learn the verses but tends to get very sidetracked when we are trying to tell the Bible Story Lessons. So we will save those for Family Evenings and start doing those together then with a fun activity.

From there he will move the calendar clip each day, change the weather and fill out his Calendar Worksheet where he fills in the date, etc.

And then each day we will do:

Math

Phonics

Reading

Writing

Twice a Week we will do:

Art

Twice a week we will:

Take a trip to the Library

This scales our day back a LOT but the beauty in this? Mister M will be more eager to learn and I will have a lot more time to focus on reading which is one of our biggest goals for this year. There must be a reason our Homeschool Curriculum Kit didn’t include Science and Geography or come with a big set of Bible Curriculum. Maybe that should have been the first clue?

While my intentions are good, I sometimes try to do too  much. I am not too proud to admit that. It’s a flaw I am always working on.

Today was our first day to see how this went and my son was MUCH more motivated, MUCH more attentive, and MUCH more willing to get his work done. He excitedly went from Math to Phonics without asking to “take a  break” and when we were done with all our work for the day, asked if we could do more tomorrow!!!

WHAT??????

I am usually pretty hard headed sometimes but I am so thankful I was willing to let our first semester be our trial run. I am glad I overdid it so that I could learn how to scale it back. This past semester taught me a lot about my son and a lot about myself. It has given me some great wisdom and it has been an incredible journey bumps and all.

Something tells me the best is yet to come.

For all of you homeschoolers out there, don’t be afraid to change things. Don’t be afraid to admit if you over do it. Nothing is beyond correction and tomorrow is always a new day with new mercies.

2016 will be a GREAT year for us. I just know it!

Blessings and Love,

Kristy Delgado ❤

Leave a Reply

