Dear “Thigh Gap” Trend…

Dear “Thigh Gap” Trend,

Just when did you become an actual trend? When did you become something that our world even knows by name or desires to have? Were you always there, just waiting for us to become obsessed with your so called attractiveness or are you new to the scene? I wish that I could say I had only heard of you in passing but that is not the case. No, I heard you uttered from my sweet daughter’s lips as she examined picture after picture on my social media outlets and then so anxiously declared, “I am losing my “thigh gap” Mom. My legs are starting to look they have wrinkles on them. What do I do?”

I wish I could tell you that I instantly began to tell my daughter how to hold onto you and have you in her world but I couldn’t. I couldn’t utter an actual word because my heart was pounding so loudly in my chest and my eyes were fighting off tears of hurt and anger. She seemed to think she needed you in her life and here I just thought you were a  made up thing. Something that was just overused and not something of such importance to someone so dear to me.

It wasn’t until I walked away and had time to clear my head alone that I began to take in just how much influence you seem to be having in our society. My precious teenager, beautiful and amazing in every way, seems to feel insignificant in your apparent impending absence.

I wish I could say I want you to stay but I don’t. I want to literally rip you from the mouths of every woman, man and child in the world. I want to remove you from every photo caption and fitness magazine. I want to undo you! I want to show the world who you REALLY are: false security, false hope, false, false, false, false. You are a lie. We do not need you. We may want you but you are not the definition of beautiful or healthy. You are merely a fluke; a body type that someone just happens to be born with. You are not significant and you are not important. Your absence is nothing more than something that you have deceived our society into believing is detrimental.

Shame on you.

Shame on you for becoming a reason that girls feel inadequate and unattractive. Shame on you for not being honest. Shame on you for making my daughter feel that she isn’t enough.

I would like to seek justice but then I remember you are a fad; a trend made up by someone in this world. I can’t hold it against you, you are, after all, not even real. You are just something that our world has used to yet again objectify the body of some of God’s most beautiful creations. You are a weapon that is used to cause the next generation of women to feel insecure and ashamed of their bodies. You are a horrible, tragic myth created by someone who has a very distorted idea of beautiful.

So tonight, I will pray that I am able to forgive you and your maker. Tonight, I will pray that other mothers, fathers, brothers, sister, grandparents and other families all over the world will begin to see you for the decieving weapon that you really are. Tonight, I will pray that we can better equip our daughters to know that beauty is not limited to something so juvenile as a “thigh gap” but rather that they remember the oh so powerful words of Psalm 139:14, “I praise you (oh Lord) because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

You may be taking the social media and published media outlets by storm but you cannot take away from us the truth of our beauty in Christ and today, tomorrow and every day after, I will seek to right your wrongs and teach my daughter where her true beauty is found.

Farewell “thigh gap” trend…you won’t be trending here.

Sincerely,

Kristy: A Mom who is on to your lies. ❤

Leave a Reply

