Sick, Sick, and more SICK!

It has been a week since I last was able to write and what a week it has been! The moment my parents arrived, I started struggling with what I assumed was allergies. You know the drill: runny nose, cough, headache just over the eyes. I was miserable but I wanted to put on my best game face and have a wonderful week with my parents. And we did have an oh wonderful week.

However, as the week progressed, so did my symptoms. By this past weekend, I felt like I was dying. I didn’t want to move because movement made me ache. My head was so full of sinus pressure, I didn’t even want to open my eyes. I just wanted to stay in bed and sleep but even sleep was too difficult with the horrid cough that had now invaded my body.

Yesterday, Maximus had back to back appointments. I wanted to cry when I woke up yesterday but Momma’s ain’t got time for all that so I had to wipe my face down and manage to get my son to his dental appointment. Only to have to come home with no dental work done as my poor little guy was absolutely terrified and they decided that it would be best to refer him to a dentist in town who can sedate him if necessary to do his first filling. The first and hopefully the last. He does such a great job with brushing now but flossing those very back teeth is so incredibly hard. *sigh*

Today, I am up. I shouldn’t be. I know this BUT I AM UP. And I am knocking out one task after the other and that makes me feel better even if only mentally. Parenthood, marriage, homeschool, life…they stop for nothing and that’s a beautiful thing because they keep propelling us forward.

And even in moments where sickness makes you feel horrid, it brings moments like your husband sweetly saying, “Man..the whole house is feeling the effects of your sickness. I definitely couldn’t do life without all you do.” (How many extra points does one’s spouse get for something like this? I can’t even fathom.)

The best thing is…I feel the same exact way about him and my children. They are my reason for never giving up and for being the best me that I can be. They remind me of Christ’s love and redemption every day.

I am finding that life, even when hard and trying, is so beautiful if we slow down long enough to take it in. If we listen, if we see, if we just be…our lives have so much beauty that even sickness can’t take away.

I pray you are all blessed and we will meet again soon. Hopefully with me feeling much better!

In Christ’s Love,

Kristy ❤

Leave a Reply

