Bullet Journaling: Have you tried it?

So, in my constant search for the perfect planner and the perfect organization for my life I feel that I can never find something that fits all of my needs (errr…wants) in one neat package. The calendars never seem to allow me enough detail and the daily sheets are never detailed enough for all that I need to put in. So, I did what any woman these days does who has a desire for something more: I went to Pinterest. (And I survived!)

In my search for DIY planners, I came across something called bullet journaling. At first glance, I was pulled in. The picture displayed this adorable, personally created planner page. It had doodles, it had quotes and it had all of these different elements. All of them created by hand by the individual using the journal.

I had to know more.

Suffice to say, that was days ago and now my “Bullet Journaling” Pinterest board is filling up and I can’t put that darn application away. After hours and days spent reading and searching and viewing, I have made the decision to give this whole idea a go. I am going to test it out for one month to see if I like the method and if it will work for me. I am a terrible perfectionist at times so I am somewhat worried about typos in my handwriting or design and then having to constantly start over. I also love to be creative and artsy but have to have clear direction and visual appeal. If my doodles end up looking like a two year old drew them with a poorly inked pen, I will cry. I feel that oh so certainly within my being but I am still so hungry for more creativity in my life that I am willing to put all those risks aside and see where this will lead me.

My goal: To plan my life, my homeschool, my college career, my hobbies and my crazy thoughts all in one beautiful, inspiring place. A place that I can call my own. Truly my own. Not like the bathroom where I say it’s my own place and then children and dogs interrupt my hot bath. Not like my prayer closet where I am invaded by hyper six year olds with post it notes and rather large spiders that keep invading my favorite scriptures as I read them and not like my bedroom where I have to share it with a man who loathes the very notion of anything “DIY”, He loves me. I love him. But oh how I need a place. A place where I can breathe and laugh, even if only in silent doodle.

If anyone out there on this side of the “cybersphere” is reading this and has attempted this beautiful concept, I would love to hear your story. I would love to see your pages and hear how you got started. I plan to share my journey with bullet journaling here and document how it goes. Who knows, maybe it will inspire you and maybe you too will find your only special place. Goodness knows, we all need a place to call our own.

Wish me luck!

In Christ’s Love,

Kristy ❤

2 thoughts on “Bullet Journaling: Have you tried it?

  1. I, too, am always searching for the perfect organizational method! I looked into bullet journaling and gave it a try for exactly 2 days. My problem at the time was that i started it at a really chaotic, busy time in my life. I had way too many things to list and I ended up with pages & pages on the first entry. :/ Of course, that was discouraging, because I never actually reached the end of the list of things to do/remember in my head. I decided after the second day to set it aside and revisit it when I didn’t have quite so many things going on, so I can “ease” into a little more. I am very impressed with the system…it seems like it is a great ways to keep track of all of the details of life. Can’t wait to hear how it works for you! 🙂

    Like

    • I so understand that mindset! I am hoping that this will be a beautiful journey, even if it’s not perfectly what I envisioned. I have a tendency to write lengthy to do lists in my own life so my second goal is to help me work on that as well. That is a HUGE challenge for me ha! I am glad I am not the only one that has LONG lists. I look forward to sharing this journey with you and hopefully you will have a chance to try it again some day! Best wishes!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

